A couple days ago I was reading over at the Wesley Daily site, and there was an article by Jason Woolever about “Inclusive Language” in Bible translation. Then there was a comment from Chris that included a link to an article at Touchstone magazine.

I read it and found that while it’s a very long article, it’s an excellent one. I recommend it to you, dear reader; it’s well worth your time and effort.

Then I saw a comment from John B that said this:

However, I do believe that saying “brothers and sisters” where the literal translation is “brothers” is appropriate and important. While most people may understand “man” to mean all humankind, why risk offending someone needlessly?

Well, I’m afraid I let the old temper get away from me, and so I replied:

John B, in my humble opinion I think it’s time we stop worrying so much about offending people by not using the “correct” words and start communicating the Word clearly and concisely as it has been handed down to us.

I shot that reply off and then felt pangs of regret. While I still feel my response was correct, I remembered that these sites have people of various theological persuasions. They’re not all conservative, orthodox traditionalists/evangelicals, and if you are going to make comments that may offend somebody, you better be willing to engage them in debate or back off.

Fortunately, nobody has responded in the past couple days to what I said, so perhaps nobody has chosen that battle at this time.

The fact is, I think I should have kept my virtual mouth shut. If I wanted to respond, I should have done it here, on my own blog, and not on such an open forum as we have among the Methobloggers. I really don’t need the extra stress. I shouldn’t spout off if I don’t have my gun loaded and my ammunition close at hand.

Well, that’s my advice to myself. You can take it for yourself, too, if you like. You’ll find that, if you’re of like mind with me theologically, there are people “out there” who are not tolerant of our point of view and will not treat us very nicely, and dealing with them could cause us undue stress. (Those who claim tolerance as one of the greatest virtues can be the most intolerant people of all!)

So if you are tempted to “take them on”, before you do you may want to think about it first, hesitate, and think about it again. Then if you decide to do it, make sure you’re well prepared.

Gary

