It’s driving me nuts.

I just saw the list of the ten best-selling Bible versions for the past month. Once again, it includes the old King James Version, this month at number 2. I don’t think it’s ever been off the top ten list ever since I first became interested in Bible translations.

I’ve been doing Google searches all over the place, trying to find out why…why do people still buy the KJV? Why not the NKJV, NIV, TNIV, NLTse, NASB, CEV, ESV, RSV, NRSV, or any number of other translations?

How many of those people buying the KJV don’t know what they’re buying?

How many of those KJVs are electronic, bundled in with other translations in a package?

I might buy one, just so I can say I own a KJV…except that I already have one, a paperback that’s sitting on the shelf gathering dust.

It doesn’t make sense. It’s 400 years old! People can’t even understand it any more. Heck, people can’t even understand a generic “he” any more; how can they understand thee and thou, and ye, and saith, and shouldest, behold, lo, and forsooth?!

I don’t get it.

(Pardon me while I go out back and beat myself over the head with a baseball bat.)

