On an earlier discussion, there was an anonymous comment to the effect that the United Methodist Publishing House is quietly preparing their own translation of the Bible.

I just want to let you all know that I have been trying to find information, any information, about this, and so far I have found none. At this point I have to say it’s just a rumor, but I may yet find someone who can substantiate it. We’ll just have to wait and see.

I was intrigued, however, by an article I found that suggested the TNIV is gaining acceptance in the UMC, and it said that it may soon overtake the NRSV as the preferred translation for United Methodist churches.

I like that idea! And that, I know, is not just a rumor. I see the TNIV promoted quite a bit in official UMC publications and on their websites.

