chagrin
noun [U] FORMAL
disappointment or annoyance, especially when caused by a failure or mistake:
My children have never shown an interest in music, much to my chagrin
(from Cambridge Advanced Learner’s Dictionary)

I feel a bit chagrined that I have posted my own struggles with Bible translations right here on the blogosphere for all the world to see. And judging from the little world map on my sidebar, it’s pretty close to actually being all the world!

I am not a highly educated man. I have a high school education and little more. I went to college for a short time many years ago, but in the end that just wasn’t in the cards for me. I don’t have any master’s degree, or a doctor’s degree. Heck, I don’t even have a bachelor’s degree. I often feel very “out of place” when I manage to gather up my courage and plunge into conversation with some of these linguists and Bible translators here on the blogs.

I am painfully aware that my own failings are on display here. No matter how smart I try to appear, I always seem to be able to slip one foot or the other into my mouth if I try to be what I am not. And the taste is never too pleasant.

But who I am is also plain to most of you, I hope. I am a Christian, a follower of Christ. I am living in a state of repentance and prayer, following humbly in the footsteps of my Lord as I try every day to take up my cross and follow Him wherever He leads me. And most of that leading is through His Word, the Bible; and so I have become interested in the many various versions of the Bible in English. I have learned that there are different translation philosophies which result in different kinds of translations; and far more than most pew-warmers, I have come to research, and mightily struggle, with these different translations. I have been swayed at times by one camp or the other. Decisions I make sometimes offend some people, sometimes other people, especially when I try to write and defend those decisions. I’m afraid I often appear to be weak, vacillating, and irresolute.

I’ll probably never be able to write with the skill and knowledge of many of these fine bloggers who can tell us which Bibles are best and why. When I recommend translations it will probably appear to many of these fine people that I don’t really know what I’m talking about. But the fact is that I have learned a lot from these fine people, and while I have no degrees or letters after my name to tell everybody how smart and authoritative I am, I do have a mind and I do have 54 years of experience. Now while this blog may change in its scope and subject matter, it is my intention, my determination, to continue writing it and being as transparent as I can be. I hope that you all will be able to see who I am when you come here to A Friend of Christ, and will know that you have a friend in me.

