This has been an interesting week, with my new NKJV. Just like a new car, I got the first scratch in the gold page edging, and then I tried to trim the frayed end of the marker and trimmed off more than I intended to, so it’s a little short. Oh well, that’s life. It’ll work.

Anyway, as I’m reading along, my mind naturally starts wondering, “How did they say this in the NASB, or the NIV, or the ESV, etc. etc.” So I get out the version I’m wondering about and do some comparison reading (kinda like comparison shopping, only I’ve already bought them!) And I find I’m frequently pleased by the word choices they have made in the NKJV.

Now I ran into something I found interesting when I started comparing the NKJV with the ESV. I had assumed, since the NKJV is a revision of the KJV and the ESV a revision of the much-newer RSV, that the ESV would have a more modern, easier-to-understand rendering. Boy was I surprised to discover that in the passages I was comparing, the ESV had strange word order while the NKJV had a much more “normal” rendering.

This is going to require more comparison! If this is consistently true, then I would have to say people need to start giving the NKJV a second look! It may be a better translation than the widely-touted ESV!

I’ll let you know what I discover! 😉

And a few further thoughts: I was asked in our adult class at church yesterday to read a passage from the Bible. It’s kind of a default, (since we’re Methodists, and very few Methodists bring a Bible to church,) that I will be asked to read, since there were only three Bibles in a class of 14 people!

The previous Sunday I was also asked to read, and I had my NASB that day. The passage was a bit of a mouthful, and I wasn’t happy with how it sounded reading it out loud. Yesterday I had my new NKJV, and the passage was from Matthew, Jesus’ parable of the sower. I started out slowly and carefully, and was delighted with the rhythm of the passage and the ease of reading it out loud (though I was almost painfully aware of some of the archaic language compared to what we usually hear in the UMC). Even though it’s quite different than the old KJV, it still retains much of the rhythm that the KJV is famous for. It’s not bad, not bad at all.

