I see Punxsutawney Phil came out of his hole in the ground around sun-up this morning and saw his shadow. Supposedly that means another six weeks of winter.

Awww come on! We sure need some global warming around here!

Actually, I understand that if he sees his shadow it’s six more weeks, and if he doesn’t it’s only another month and a half.

We finally got a January thaw around here – Saturday and Sunday! Yup, the last two days of January we finally managed to get above the freezing mark for the first time this year. Saturday we shot up into the mid-40s, and Sunday was a little milder in the mid-30s. Snow was melting and the water was a-runnin’ in the gutter!

But it was only 12 above when I got out of bed this morning, and we’ve been going downhill ever since. They way we’ll be around -7 tonight, and maybe will only get up around +10 tomorrow. But by Thursday we are supposed to be back up to the twenties, and hit the thirties again on Friday. We apparently are now out of that frigid weather pattern we were stuck with through January, and 20s and 30s are beginning to be the norm. We’ll probably still get some cold weather; we always do in Minnesota. But this is hopefully the beginning of the end of winter for this year.

Our local church has often experimented with different things, most frequently with more contemporary music, with varying results. Recently we have been singing as our doxology after the offering, a contemporary tune with lyrics something like, “We sing praises to your name, O Lord, praises to your name, O Lord…” etc.

Now I thought this was just another move to contemporary music in our church that I could do nothing about, as usual. But then I noticed something. I looked back through the hymnal at other doxologies and Gloria Patris that we have sung in the past, and I saw that they were all, without exception, Trinitarian, i.e., in praise of the Trinity, but this new tune was not. So I took a little time one day to compose a short note to our pastor, appealing to him on the basis that the Trinity is getting the short shrift in our church, and we really need that Trinitarian check, that Trinitarian emphasis.

A couple Sundays ago the pastor came up to me and apologized for not getting back to me about it. He said he would shortly. (But I still haven’t heard from him about it.) Then yesterday when we finished taking the offering, the organist began playing a familiar tune, the “Old 100th!” Praise God from whom all blessings flow; praise Him all creatures here below; praise Him above, ye heavenly hosts; praise Father, Son, and Holy Ghost!

I was surprised. I e-mailed the pastor this afternoon, asking if this was a one-time thing, or if we’d be hearing this more often, but I haven’t heard back from him yet. (UPDATE! I heard from the pastor, and he says it will be a now-and-then thing, maybe even frequent. He says he thinks there is value in visiting our roots.(of course!))

I tried a little while ago to join a blogroll called Christian Bloggers Online. Their selling point is that it is easier to have Christian bloggers all gathered together on one list than to go through so many secular blogs looking for Christian bloggers. And I thought it sounded like a good idea. I got their badge and put it on this blog, and I tried to submit the form to join them, but it kept bouncing back at me that I have to enter a valid e-mail address. Well, I had my valid e-mail address right there on the form, just like they asked. But it kept kicking it back to me, so I just left their site and removed their badge from my blog. Whatever. It’s Monday, what do you expect?

Anyway, we’re through January 2009 and now it’s February. Next thing you know we’ll be looking at 2010 coming at us really fast!
_

