Tags

, ,

I had a little bit of a thrill just a short while ago when I was out on a job. I heard a rumbling overhead, and looked up to see the “Aluminum Overcast”, a B-17 bomber of WWII vintage, cruising overhead.

This plane was commissioned by the military in 1945, right at the end of WWII, and I don’t think it saw any combat, but I could be wrong about that. It’s visiting the Mankato airport this week and is available for people to take a look at it on the ground, and for a pretty hefty price, you can even go for a ride in it.

I don’t know why, but there’s always been something about the B-17 that I have found attractive. Maybe it’s because of the heroism of those who rode it. Maybe it’s because so often it brought its riders home (though many were also lost.)

Anyway, I love ’em, and it’s a real thrill to see one flying overhead.

