Tags

, , ,

How many of you guys are football fans? (This is American football I’m talking about, for you who aren’t Americans 😉 )

You might be interested to know that I live about three blocks away from the Minnesota Vikings Training Camp at Minnesota State University – Mankato.

You might also be interested to know that in all the many years I have lived here, I have never gone over there to watch them or get autographs. I know, so close, yet so far.

I’m not a football fan. I used to be a big-time Vikings fan back in the 60s and 70s, lived and died with the Vikings every week. If the Vikes won, I had a great week. If they lost, I had a terrible week. After all, what your football team does on the weekend reflects on your manhood all week, doesn’t it? But then in the early 80s I had an experience … you might call it a panic attack … I was watching the Vikes play on TV and got so upset that I started hyperventilating, and I thought I would have a heart attack. That’s when I changed.

I realized there was more to life than football, and I just couldn’t go on like that! Football has a sixteen game season, and every game is big. I thought back to the game I loved in my youth – baseball! Baseball has 162 games in a season, and a lot of times you don’t even realize how big a particular game is until after the season, or even years later!

I decided that baseball is my game, and I never looked back. The Twins, and the Mankato Moondogs, those are my teams!

The Vikings are in town, and so are the fans. I guess it’s good for the local economy. But I won’t go over and see them, and I will look forward to the day they leave town. It’s only two weeks away!

