Tags

“Do to others as you would have them do to you.” (Luke 6:31 TNIV)

“Rejoice with those who rejoice; mourn with those who mourn. Live in harmony with one another. Do not be proud, but be willing to associate with people of low position. Do not think you are superior.” (Romans 12:15-16 TNIV)

Yesterday we had a businessman from a nearby community come to our shop to have his windshield repaired.

While my co-worker was working on his windshield, this man was telling him, “I had a brother who was an insurance agent, a big-time insurance agent in my home town. He died a couple years ago, and your company was the only glass company that sent flowers for his funeral. And that’s why I came to you guys. You’re my glass company from now on.”

It took me a while, but now I remember the guy who died. He was a Baptist with a strong faith. My co-worker and I had both talked to him from time to time about the Lord and church things, and we were happy to do our best for his insured customers (not that we don’t always do our best!). We were saddened when he passed away from cancer a couple years ago, but we were happy for him, knowing that he was now with the Savior and we will rejoice with him someday.

But his brother hit us out of the blue yesterday. What a special thing to find out it was because of how we had treated his brother and his family, that he was now giving us business!

It’s amazing all the lives we touch as we pass through this world!

