Tags

I have begun reading the sample (Matthew) of the Common English Bible which I downloaded a while ago this morning. I have seen a few posts and comments on other blogs from folks who have begun reading it as well, pointing out some “different” renderings and discussing them.

I was struck by the second verse of chapter 3, which begins: “Change your hearts and minds…” This of course is referring to John the Baptist’s preaching. We usually see John preaching with a mighty “REPENT!” And of course the Greek word means to change one’s mind, or to turn around and go the other way. “Change your hearts and minds” isn’t bad, but it’s not the whole story. There is sorrow involved: – to be sorry: to recognize the wrong in something you have done and be sorry about it, and then to change your ways: to feel regret about a sin or past actions and change your ways or habits. (Encarta World Dictionary)

The translators could simply use the word “repent”, but that kind of goes against their translation philosophy, to give us the Bible in the language of the common people. I don’t know what the solution is, but I’m just not certain what they did is the best that can be done.

