Tags

On the previous thread about the new Common English Bible, some reference was made to the idea of “broad evangelicalism”.

Blogger Larry asked this:

What constitutes broad evangelicalism? I only ask because it sounds like this distinguishes it from the NRSV team of scholars, yet when I was seminary, I had some limited opportunity to interact with Dr. Bruce Metzger, and I guess came away with the impression that he might be evangelical in some sense of the word . . . the Wikipedia article on him also vaguely hints at that (or that he at least was not denounced by evangelicals).

My own thoughts off the top of my head are that there is the usual evangelical crowd I think of, consisting of SBC Baptists, Charismatics/Pentecostals like Assembly of God and so on, many independent or non-denominational churches, etc. I think that’s what a lot of people think of when we say “evangelicals”.

I also know that in my own denomination, the UMC, there are many people who are not theological liberals/progressives, who do not toe that line but believe very strongly in a high view of Christ, that is, in His deity, His atoning death and bodily resurrection, the reality of His miracles, and so on and so forth – things that are cornerstones of the evangelical Christian faith. But we – I myself am among them – are within mainline denominations rather than the usual “evangelical” churches. I think we are at least part of what constitutes “broader evangelicalism.”

What think ye?

