(With apologies to the Mamas and the Papas)

A little disa and data this afternoon.

I really have a hard time with Mondays. I often wake up in a bad mood, and sometimes I don’t manage to get out of it all day. That’s not true today. I’ve been too busy to be in a bad mood. In fact, at 4:00 in the afternoon I’m just now getting finished reading my blogs that I subscribe to. And I just got to thinking that it might be nice to post something today.

One of the things I really like about WordPress is the blog stats they give you. You not only can see how many hits you have gotten today, or for that matter, how many you have gotten recently, or over a longer period, but you can also see who is referring readers to your blog, what pages and topics have gotten the most traffic, what links people are clicking on your blog, what search engine terms people are using that are leading them to your blog, and so on.

And those WP blog stats tell me that my biggest day ever was thirteen days ago, when I got 274 hits. It also tells me that so far today I’ve only seen 27 hits. That’s the lowest total in quite a while, but it’s still early, actually. There are a lot of people who don’t get on the computer until after work and in the evening. And now that I have this new post, there are going to be more hits, even if they just come here to see what I happen to be saying today and find out that it’s really not important. Anyway, I guarantee I won’t end the day with 27 hits.

You know what? There’s only eight more hours in this Monday-Monday. And sixteen hours from now I’ll most likely be back here at work and dinging around with this old computer again. And that’ll be Tuesday-Tuesday. I wonder why nobody ever wrote a song about that day.

One of these days I’ll probably get back to writing about Bible translations. I see there have been some good discussions over the last few days. I particularly enjoyed the one at TC’s blog, New Leaven. TC says he’s sick of the NIV/TNIV rendering of sarx as “sinful nature” and wants to use one that says “flesh” instead. It’s probably getting a little late for me to enter the fray over there, and I really don’t have too much to say about it for that matter. But I personally am really becoming attached to my TNIV, and while the “sinful nature” thing bothers me a little, it’s by no means a deal-breaker for me. And I’m really looking forward to the new NIV2011 when it comes out. I know some things will probably be scaled back a little bit, but it’s going to be the latest and best attempt by the CBT to give us the best Bible possible.

Then again, I got to thinking last night that when the New NIV comes along, I’ll probably have to buy a new NIV Study Bible in addition to my new NIV2011 reference Bible I’m planning on getting. Or…maybe not.

One of these days I’m gonna have to post again about church matters, too.

And I’m sure my good friend Stan McCullars at Just After Sunrise would like me to post some of my conservative political views as well. I generally don’t say too much about that here, but maybe I will. After all, there are things happening in this country that could be absolutely disastrous for our future, and people are either just sitting and watching, or ignoring it all.

Anyway, it’s about time to head on down the road for today. I’ll see ya tomorrow.

