Tags

I got word in the last couple days that the Minnesota Twins Winter Caravan will be making a stop here in Mankato, in just over two weeks on Monday evening, January 25th.

I’ve been a baseball fan, and a Twins fan, for as long as I can remember. And I always make a point of going to the Twins Caravan every winter. One of my fondest memories was twenty-three years ago when I was living over in Rochester, MN, and the Twins came to town. We got to see Twins greats Kirby Puckett, Kent Hrbek, Gary Gaetti, Tom Brunansky, and my boyhood hero, Harmon Killebrew! That was a thrill!

We don’t usually get quite the big names here in Mankato as they do in Rochester, but we still have a great time. This year we’re scheduled to get future Hall-of-Famer Bert Blyleven, along with radio announcer John Gordon, Twins outfielder Denard Span, pitcher Jeff Manship, and who knows who else will show up? They usually send down one of the big-wigs, like the team president or general manager, or someone like that. So we do all right here in Mankato.

The only thing is, we often get either a big snowstorm when the Twins come, or it’s bitterly cold.

This year we’ve had enough snow. For that matter we’ve had enough cold, too. Maybe we could have an exception this year and have sunshine and temps in the 30s.

Anyway, that’s what I plan on doing in a couple weeks.

