Tags

,

Because I’m getting old, and my eyes aren’t what they used to be.

I was looking at the moon’s phases on the weather gizmo on this computer this morning, and I thought it said the moon’s phase was “waxing gibbons”. What it really said was “waxing gibbous”.  But so comes inspiration.

When I was a kid, I used to hear the meteorologists say that there was a patchy fog. How about that for a great name – Apache Fog!

Yeah, my brother and I were nuts. We used to do lots of goofy stuff, like pretending we were a TV station called KRUD. We’d come on the air and say, “This is crud!…I mean, this is KRUD TV!

I don’t know how funny I will be without my little bro, but I’m a bit of a goof myself, you know. It runs in the family. It always has. One thing we have always done in our family is laugh, and at the most inopportune times, too. But it keeps you sane. I mean, other people will think you’re insane, but it really keeps you sane, or something like that. Whatever.

Waxing Gibbons is intended to be a place where I can let out my goofiness when I write. I write another blog, but it’s usually pretty serious, and my humor can be inappropriate. People reading a post about Bible study might not understand why I’m suddenly telling a joke about Paul, for instance.

So this is to be an outlet, where I can let it out. And if you want to let it out, too, it just might be acceptable to let it out here.

I think. Maybe.

