Tags

, ,

I’ve spent a lot of time in recent months and years looking for an excellent Bible with which to replace my nearly worn out NASB Giant Print Personal-size Reference Bible. I’ve looked at quite a number of different translations, different manufacturers, and different formats. I always found something about each one of them that was less than desirable, as far as I was concerned. I’m not going to go into all that on this post; we’ll just say that I have finally decided I would like to stick with the NASB and a large-size print for the time being. (Of course, I reserve the right to change my mind after the new NIV comes out next year and the CEB comes out whenever.)

At any rate, yesterday as my work day was ending, it occurred to me that I was wasting my time and energy looking for something to replace my favorite Bible, when the solution was right there in front of my face. How could I be so dumb? Isn’t it obvious? If I like the NASB Giant Print Personal size reference Bible so much, it’s only natural to replace it with another one!

The only negatives I see in doing that are the relatively steep price for a bonded leather Bible, and the fact that it’s bonded leather. Now if Zondervan made a genuine leather version of it for the same price, I’d snap one up in a minute!

This Bible is such a beautiful size, about 8 inches by 5 inches, and about an inch and a half thick or less. It’s what B&H Publishing, the makers of the Holman CSB, would call “Hand Size”. But you open it up and see a large, dark text. It’s supposedly 9.5 pt, but it looks more like 10 pt. The notes and cross-references are slightly smaller, all of them contained in the center-column, and extremely clear so they’re easy to use. Very few Bibles of this size have such an easy-to-read font size and style. The Holman CSB Hand Size is similar, though the print doesn’t seem quite as dark and bold. (That is also a Bible I recommend for its size and clear text.)

And so I’ve decided that my best move, my very best move, is to replace my favorite Bible with another one.

Now if I could just convince Zondervan to make me one without that dratted red ink!

