“…out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks. The good person out of his good treasure brings forth good, and the evil person out of his evil treasure brings forth evil. I tell you, on the day of judgment people will give account for every careless word they speak, for by your words you will be justified, and by your words you will be condemned.”
Matthew 12:34b-37 (ESV)

“Sh**!” (You supply the rest of the letters.)

I have heard that word so many times over the last 40 years, that euphemism for excrement. Now I am even seeing it in print and on the internet. I saw it on Facebook just the other day, on a comment from someone I am slightly acquainted with. I’m sorry to say I am starting to become numb to the effects of such language – sometimes I almost don’t hear it. I worked in a factory for a year and a half back when I was in my early twenties. I learned to expect such language from those guys. And it wasn’t just that “S” word, but also the “F” word. “Hell” and “G-d damn”, words that I wouldn’t think of saying when I was a kid, became very mild by comparison.

It wasn’t just the factory workers. I first encountered it on a large scale when I worked for two weeks one summer vacation on a corn detasseling crew. But I hadn’t heard such creative “cussing” until I was in the auto glass business for a couple years, which is when a fine Vietnam vet demonstrated his “abilities” which included Ethiopians and insects. I humbly admit that, in the midst of some difficult auto glass jobs, I have allowed my own mouth to say such things, to my shame.

Such language is filthy. It’s like dung coming out of one’s mouth. No Christian, in my humble opinion, has any right to be using such words.

I am old enough that I am still shocked to hear it out of the mouth of a woman, or see it written by a woman. But the younger people don’t seem to think anything of it. They have been hardened to it by the constant use of such words. But when I hear a woman use that kind of language, it’s like they have just smeared dung on their own faces. It changes one’s whole sense of who that woman is. The word lingers in the air like the stench of that dung.

Women, if you use such filthy language, please try to stop! Would you smear dung on your own face and walk around like it’s not even there? Of course not! You’d wash it off as quickly and thoroughly as possible! You’d disinfect your skin from it! You wouldn’t feel clean for weeks after that, if ever! You wouldn’t want anyone to see you like that, would you?

No, this is how you should be: “but let your adorning be the hidden person of the heart with the imperishable beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which in God’s sight is very precious.” (1 Peter 3:4 ESV)

A gentle and quiet spirit. That is how the holy women of God should be, not cussing like a drunken sailor!

And you Christian men! Cleanse your hearts and minds from such filthiness! Would you smear dung all over the walls of God’s holy temple?

Believers and followers of Christ, don’t use such dirty, filthy language in your everyday speech. For the unregenerate blaspheme God because of the way we speak and act. Present yourselves pure and spotless to God. Don’t be like the natural, unregenerate people of this world, who are perishing. Remember – put on Christ!

