From the MLB.com article:

Span helps Dyson retrieve milestone ball
KANSAS CITY — Twins center fielder Denard Span doesn’t know Kansas City’s rookie center fielder Jarrod Dyson. But the ties that bind all players within the Major League Baseball fraternity run deep and that’s why Span took it on himself to help Dyson get the baseball back after Dyson launched his first career Major League homer on Monday night.

In the second inning, Dyson drove a 3-1 pitch from Kevin Slowey over the wall in right-center. A fan wound up with the ball and Span implored the fan to send the ball back. With some nearby Royals bullpen members also urging the fan to take a return-to-sender approach, Dyson indeed wound up with his milestone baseball.

“I never met Dyson, but I looked up at the numbers and saw that he didn’t have a homer,” Span said. “I assumed it was his first. I signaled to the fan to give me the ball back and explained to the fan what the significance was. The fan didn’t object. Once I got the ball, I threw it into the [Royals’] bullpen.”

Span said he made the effort to retrieve the ball because he feels all players deserve to have those souvenirs from milestone moments.

“I know how special that is,” Span said. “I hit mine in 2008. Every big leaguer deserves to have their first hit and first home run ball. I’ve got both.”

It’s always good to see these young men playing Major League Baseball doing things right and being good examples for others.

