Tags

, , ,

I got home from work last evening, tired and a little bit upset, because I knew my daughter had promised that she would go to the church and help out with a children’s choir for an hour or so. That meant I would have to shower, wolf down a quick supper, and go back out into the cold to drive her down to the church.

But it wasn’t a major deal. It wasn’t a battle I wanted to fight. I told myself to just do it and make the best of it. I took along a study Bible, planning to continue my study of Job. We got to the church and hurried in through the cold, took off our coats, and while my daughter went straight into the sanctuary where the rehearsal would take place, I looked around for a good place to hunker down with my Bible and read.

Well, I didn’t look too hard, for some reason. I just decided to take up a well-lit spot in the back of the sanctuary. The kids came in, and the pianist, and nearly last was the director. They got to work and pretty soon the sanctuary was filled with Christmas music. I enjoyed the background noise; at times the music was a little too loud and disturbed my reading, so I put my Bible down and listened. Then I would go back to my reading.

Just as I finished my reading in Job, my mind was awakened by a beautiful waltz drifting into my consciousness. There was something familiar about it. I knew I had heard it before. Two young girls were singing it with the piano accompaniment, but in my head I seemed to hear John Denver singing it. What a beautiful piece of music! And the lyrics, were clearly fitting for Christmas … not a Santa Claus and Ho-Ho-Ho Christmas, but Christmas at the church, with Jesus and Mary and Joseph, and so on.

I kept hearing John Denver’s voice singing in my head, and so this morning when I got here to work I tried a Google search to see if I could find it. It turns out I was right about John Denver. Here’s what I found:

If you’re like me, you can’t understand many of the words, so here they are:

THE PEACE CAROL
(Bob Beers)

The Beers Family – 1971
John Denver & The Muppets – 1979

The garment of life, be it tattered and torn
The cloak of the soldier is weathered and worn
But what Child is this that was poverty-born
The peace of Christmas Day

The branch that bears the bright holly
The dove that rests in yonder tree
The light that shines for all to see
The peace of Christmas Day

The hope that has slumbered for two thousand years
A promise that silenced a thousand fears
A faith that can hobble an ocean of tears
The peace of Christmas Day

The branch that bears the bright holly
The dove that rests in yonder tree
The light that shines for all to see
The peace of Christmas Day

Add all the grief that people may bear
Total the strife and the trouble and care
Put them in columns and leave them right there
The peace of Christmas Day

The branch that bears the bright holly
The dove that rests in yonder tree
The light that shines for all to see
The peace of Christmas Day

The branch that bears the bright holly
The dove that rests in yonder tree
The light that shines for all to see
The peace of Christmas Day

