Tags

Most of us know what an e-reader is, like the Amazon Kindle, the B&N Nook, and the Sony Reader among others. They are hand-held devices on which one can download books and read them on a fair-sized screen. Though I haven’t kept up on e-readers very well, I understand the display on the latest models has improved greatly over the earlier models. One can generally expect to spend at least in the neighborhood of $150 for one, with prices for fancier models going up from there.

In a comment on my previous post about bonded leather Bibles, Stan McCullars made this statement: “Another option would be a Kindle or other eReader device. You could get whatever cover you wanted for it and add as many Bibles as you like. It would be like having multiple Bibles with the same cover which could be as nice as you wanted.”

Funny you should mention that, Stan. It made me think of how, on Sundays, I walk into our Bible study class with one of a number of Bibles I own, sometimes a thinline, sometimes a big ol’ study Bible of some sort, depending on my mood that particular day. My 34-year-old son comes into the same class with an Apple iPod Touch with several Bible translations on it, and if he can get the network, he has even more translations available. I guess that shows the generation gap we have.

If I were to buy an e-reader, I would probably have precious little other than Bibles on it; perhaps a commentary or two as well. That’s what I would use it for. But you know, that day could be approaching. There would be a lot to be said for such a device, especially if it would be possible to be online with it and have a wide variety of translations available, along with commentaries and other reference materials. I could probably see myself purchasing such a device for myself in the future.

The problems I have had with the e-reader device is the difficulty of reading that electronic screen over a long period of time with these old presbyopic eyes. However, I understand that problem may be going away, as the latest display screens are said to be much improved. That really leaves only one major objection: the price. It’s not easy to justify spending the money in this economy. But if I can do that much with it, it certainly becomes much easier.

(I wonder if one could find a e-reader cover in Highland Goatskin…)

