On a previous post I showed some photos from last week when the weather around here was gorgeous and the snow was melting, and I said it wouldn’t last. I was right.

By the end of the week it was said that we only had 8 inches of snow left on the ground, not counting all the snow piled up in parking lots and on the boulevards. But Sunday winter returned with a vengeance. By the end of the day we had seven more inches on the ground, and we thought that would be it. But Monday morning I saw the weather coming again on the radar, but our “weather people” said it would only be another inch or so. However, they hadn’t expected the storm to do what it did. For some reason, it sat here above Mankato and spun, all day long. We got another five inches out of the storm, and all told we got a foot of snow between Sunday and Monday.

Here’s a photo I took through my windshield on my way home from work last night:

Visibility was poor and the road was slippery.

This morning we saw what had been wrought by the storm. The roads were pretty well plowed by the time I got to work, but they were still snow-compacted and rough, and very slippery. As you can see by this photo, our parking lot had once again been plowed, as had the streets.

But hope springs eternal! We’re getting close to the end of February, and the sun is higher and hotter already. While our temperature is only +16, the sun is melting the snow! Here’s a photo I took just a few minutes ago. Looks like it won’t be long and we can go watch some baseball up at Target Field!

