…in a couple hours. The friend is my chiropractor, Dr.Kuch.

Last Tuesday when I went in for a treatment I told him exactly what my symptoms were, and he was suddenly quite concerned. It turns out the ache just to the left of my tailbone, the pain down the outside of my leg and the numbness in my shin are classic symptoms of a bulging disc in my lower back.

He tells me there are three kinds: a bulging disc, which will respond immediately to his treatment; a herniated disc, which will take a couple weeks; and a ruptured disc, which will take considerably longer. But he’s very confident he can treat it, and he’s pulled me through a lot of painful times already. Besides, I really don’t relish the idea of some doctor with a knife cutting into my lower back. If Dr.Kuch can do it, I’m all for it!

I know there’s a pinched nerve involved; it makes my left leg weak, so I sometimes almost fall down, and the pain can be very bothersome, especially when I’m trying to find a comfortable position when I’m trying to sleep at night. If I’m real lucky, I might sleep two hours or more before the pain creeps in and awakens me. Sometimes I lay awake for literally hours trying to find that one pain-free position. And what amazes me is the worst pain is in my shin, which is usually numb during the day when I’m on my feet and working.

Well, anyway, Dr.Kuch tells me he will do a different kind of treatment today than what he usually does, which will hopefully relieve at least some of the pain today, and maybe I’ll be able to sleep better and have a much more comfortable weekend.

And if any of you readers would care to say a prayer for me, I would appreciate that as well.

