In our adult Bible study class yesterday we were discussing Romans 7, and I was struck by how it almost appears that Paul is personifying “sin”:

“For sin, seizing the opportunity afforded by the commandment, deceived me, and through the commandment put me to death.” Romans 7:11 NIV 2010

So sin seized an opportunity? Sin deceived me? Sin put me to death? Sounds like sin is a person. Do you suppose Paul had Satan in mind here? Or is he just trying to make the concept easier to understand?

It made me wonder just how much credit the “ancients” gave to Satan and his fallen angels. It also makes me wonder if we should be giving them more credit than we do. Is Satan or his demons responsible for bad things that happen today, that we usually chalk up to our own stupidity or bad luck?

