Tags

, ,

No, I’m not comfortable with Facebook!

Well, maybe a little bit.

I guess I’ve gotten used to it. There are still things about it that bother me. There are times that I still contemplate deleting my account. No, I’m really not very comfortable with it at all. It’s like letting an 800-pound elephant into the room and trying to ignore it at times, or trying to just pay attention to its good qualities while ignoring the smell.

I’m not comfortable with the fact that there are pictures of me and my family on it. I keep the ones on my account on my photo album, which most people can see anyway, and use my “Loon and baby” picture for my personal photo. But my kids have pictures of themselves out there, and pictures of our grandkids and family pictures and so on. But I realize it’s best to just get over that. The fact is, without the personal pictures it can be hard to know if the “old friend” you have found is really that person, or just another somebody with the same name. And with all those millions of people on Facebook, what are the chances that anybody’s photo is going to be misused in any way, unless they post something that’s pretty close to obscene to begin with?

I’m sure there are unscrupulous people on Facebook who would try and hack into your FB account and steal your identity and so on. You’ll find those kind of people all over the place anyway. You just have to try and be careful you don’t give them an easy opportunity to do that. And I don’t think most people are going to be doing that anyway. Not that I believe that people are inherently good, but it’s just better if you’re careful and don’t give people the opportunity to prove otherwise.

There are lots of games available to play on Facebook. I’d rather not do that. When a game shows up on somebody’s post, I simply block that “app” from being shown on my wall. Easy. If somebody shows up that I don’t want to deal with, (and there have been very few) they’re easy to block, too. You can tailor your account to be what you want it to be.

I put this blog on Networked Blogs, as well as on the WordPress FB app, and now when I post something it shows up on my news feed twice. I don’t care much for that, but I’m not sure what to do about it, and I’m not sure which is better anyway, if either. If any of you have a preference, or can give me a reason to stick with one or the other, I would appreciate knowing that.

So maybe I am kind of comfortable with Facebook now. But it’s not a really commm-fortable kind of comfort, if you know what I mean.

