Tags

, ,

You probably didn’t even know I won anything!

I think it was a couple weeks ago, I was on Facebook and read the little blurb from the Institute on Religion and Democracy (IRD). They were asking what we were going to give up for Lent. There had been a couple responses before mine, nice ladies who wrote the usual kind of things you might expect in answer to that question.

Well, I was in a bit of a joking mood at the time, and since we were experiencing a small snowstorm that day, hopefully one of the last significant snowstorms of the winter, I quipped, “I would like to give up snow for Lent.” After that I didn’t give it any further thought.

Well, several days later I get this email from a fellow at IRD, saying I had won the contest and wanting my mailing address so they could send me my prize! Turns out my response had tickled their funny-bones and they decided I was the winner, which was actually almost embarrassing to me, because it wasn’t a serious response by any means. I guess it just proves that a person’s first response can be the best sometimes.

Anyway, they sent me a signed copy of a book called “Girl Soldier: A Story of Hope for Northern Uganda’s Children”, by Faith J.H. McDonnell, with Grace Akallo. I haven’t started reading it yet, but just wanted to let you and them know it has arrived!

