Tags

,

This might start getting a little disjointed. I hope not, but here goes…

I just asked the question in the comment section of part 1,

“So, what’s a pastor to do when the people of his congregation don’t like the way he does communion?

Or, more accurately, what is a pastor to do when a lot of the people in his congregation don’t like the way he does communion, but at least some of them do?”

Now I haven’t done any kind of a scientific survey of our congregation concerning this, so I don’t really know how many people do and don’t like intinction. But I know the wheel that is squeaking the loudest is the one where the people don’t like it. At least, that is the one I am hearing more than ever before. It used to be that when the pastor wanted to try something new, everybody just went along with it and didn’t say anything, at least not publicly, but I can assure you many families had “roast preacher” for Sunday dinner. The first rumblings, as they almost always are, were within the families. One spouse would say to the other, “I hate the way we did communion today!” And the other would say, “Yeah, I didn’t really care for it either.” And then little thought was given to the subject for a few weeks, because the church only does communion once a month.

After a few months, especially when it started to appear that the pastor preferred the new way, more people would talk among themselves within the church, “You don’t like the way we did it today? We don’t like it either!” It doesn’t take long before people start realizing that there is a sizable number of people in the church who would rather do communion some other way.

In our church, I guess we are now past that stage. I overheard someone this past Sunday telling the associate pastor that they don’t like it, and that they know a number of folks that also don’t like it. The associate pastor was surprised to hear this. I would now assume that word will get back to the senior pastor about it.

As I already asked, what is a pastor to do in this situation?

It seems to me, someone, whether it is the pastor, associate pastor, worship committee, or whoever, someone will have to try and determine some numbers here, and get some idea how big or small this problem is. Possibly some kind of compromise can be worked out. Maybe this month we can do it the old way; maybe next month by intinction, and so on. When the pastors first started this, the idea was to give the congregation a taste of some different ways that different churches and traditions did communion. But lately it has changed to where we seem to be in a rut with intinction.

So what do you think we should be doing about this problem?

