Back in the 60s on the TV show “Laugh-in”, Goldie Hawn had to introduce a segment of the show called “Potpourri”. She said, “Now it’s time for our new segment, Potpourri, which means just about anything … but it sure is spelled funny!”

That’s what this post is, a little of this, a little of that; a potpourri of what has been my life for the last few weeks.

I know this isn’t really a baseball blog, but you might think so considering my recent posts. But it’s summer, and this old guy’s thoughts are often on our Great American Passtime. You know our own Bert Blyleven, along with Roberto Alomar, are going to be inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame this Sunday in Cooperstown, New York. It’s been a good diversion for many of us, especially after the horrid early season our Twins had this year. But they’ve been coming on strong recently, but ran into a nasty buzz-saw last night in the form of Detroit Tigers pitcher Justin Verlander, who pitched like he’s headed for the Hall of Fame himself some day.

It’s been a very busy summer so far at work, with us two old guys working as hard as we can to try and keep up with all the broken windshields that come in to our shop. It’s nice to have that job security, but this old body seems to be getting worn out.

I’ve also been a bit preoccupied with the preparations for the upcoming wedding of our daughter Rebecca in September. Actually, I’m not doing much of the preparations myself, but it’s constantly there in my thoughts. Becky is our third child, after son Dan and daughter Angela, both of whom are married. We also have a third daughter, Rachel, who is still living at home.

Mom & Dad got moved from northern Minnesota a few weeks ago and are now living in southern Iowa, where my “baby” brother (age 51) is a high school principal. We got to see all three of them last weekend at a family reunion in Jackson, MN, and had a wonderful time.

Physically, things are different, better in some ways and worse in others. My disc problem in my lower back is slowly being resolved. There are still times when my legs ache, but most of my abilities have returned and I have resumed my work activities pretty much the way they used to be. On the negative side, at the same time my disc problem is going away, my shoulders seem to be breaking down after 35 years of hard work. Often times my shoulders are much more painful than my back and legs.

So anyway, I know I haven’t been doing a lot of writing here on the Sundry Times lately. I’m busy, and my thoughts are elsewhere. I’ve been spending too much time on Facebook and now Google+, as well as working on a Facebook group for our church. But I am aware I need to write more here, and I do plan on doing that soon, because this is my online home.

