In a way, that seems to be what I’ve been doing a lot of lately.

Don’t get me wrong, we’ve been very busy at work, so busy that I finish the day with aching muscles and I don’t want to think about the next day. But I haven’t been blogging very much, and I certainly haven’t been heavily engaged in Bible study either.

I was talking with a new blog friend yesterday, and I was telling him that after all my struggles with the different Bible translations, I now feel settled. I’m not struggling any more. I feel I’ve found, for the time being, the two or three translations I am most comfortable with, and in which I have that trust that they are among the very best available. So I’m not digging into the text very hard right now to do my comparisons and find out if their renderings are as accurate as they could and should be. I know there are my blogging friends out there who do that every day; they’re linguists and translators, and it’s their business. It’s not mine. But there is a level I can achieve regarding the judging of translations that is not as high and detailed, but which is nevertheless worth something, even if it’s only enough to get me into trouble.

So I am resting. That’s not to say that I’m not reading my Bibles any more, because there is a sense in which we can read the scriptures and relax, and let the goodness and truth of what we read flow down over us. I picture it much like Psalm 133:

1 How good and pleasant it is
when God’s people live together in unity!

2 It is like precious oil poured on the head,
running down on the beard,
running down on Aaron’s beard,
down on the collar of his robe.
3 It is as if the dew of Hermon
were falling on Mount Zion.
For there the LORD bestows his blessing,
even life forevermore. (Psalm 133 NIV)

I am resting from the translation “wars”. I am resting from my teaching of adult Bible study, for the time being. I’m still busy, if only in things apart from the reading of the scripture. I have a daughter getting married in a month; there are things around the house that need my attention; my job is proving to be very physically trying this summer; and I’m still healing from my physical injuries to my lower back, hips, and legs, and also my shoulders and arms.

But I have stepped aside, and am resting; resting in the goodness and knowledge of the Lord.

