Tags

With my co-worker out for a while due to his falling off a truck resulting in what has turned out to be six broken ribs, …I am finding it difficult to keep up with my intended blog writing as I had hoped. I don’t usually find the time during the day to write, and by the end of the workday I’m so tired that writing is one of the last things I want to do. Mainly, I want to go home, take a shower, eat some supper, and crash.

But I still intend to write more on this blog. And so I want to give you a quick overview of what I’m thinking about writing in the near future, Bible-wise.

If you’ve been keeping up with me lately, you know that while I love, respect, and continue to recommend the new NIV, I am a bit perplexed with it, because it seems to be too good. The fine people at the Committee on Bible Translation have made a nearly perfect translation of the Bible into contemporary English, but it doesn’t reach out and grab me! Rarely does it enlighten my heart and soul. And I wish I knew why, but I really don’t.

So I have gravitated to a few translations that do grab me, through which the Spirit shines His light into my heart. And if you think I will always pick the translations that make it easier to understand the Bible, you may be surprised and perhaps even disappointed when I tell you what they are. Because only one of these translations can be called a “new” or “contemporary” translation; the rest are considerably older. But there is something I have found in each of these translations that the newest translations seem to lack; some kind of extra little spark, some special wording or phrasing that moves my heart somehow. I plan on writing at least one post on each of these translations and try to figure out just what it is about them that appeals so much to me. There are four translations in all, the newest being the English Standard Version (ESV); the oldest is the translation out of which the ESV grew, the Revised Standard Version (RSV). The third is one that seems old, but is relatively contemporary, the New King James Version (NKJV). The final one, and the one that I have found most intriguing and surprising (and which will probably surprise you the most as well) is the New American Standard Bible (NASB) 1977 edition.

In the next few weeks, I hope to post photos and textual comparisons of all of these, and will try to figure out what’s so special about each of them.

